Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mountain Valley Collegiate Conference

Prior to 1970, SUNY Adirondack was a member of the Northeastern Collegiate Conference, whose membership included an array of differing educational institutions, primarily located in the Albany, NY area.

On October 30, 1970, representatives from six community colleges convened for the purpose of organizing and drawing up a constitution that would unite them into one athletic body who shared compatible educational objectives, size, programs, and geographic locations. Originally, there were championships in nine sports, all determined by one-day tournaments, with the exception of basketball.

During the 1976-77 year, plans were formalized for a separate Women's Division within the MVCC. Currently, there are championships for women members in soccer, volleyball, tennis, cross country, bowling, basketball, swimming, softball and track. Men's championships are determined in cross-country, soccer, swimming, basketball, wrestling, track, lacrosse, golf, tennis, baseball, and bowling.

SUNY Adirondack has had Conference Champions in the sports of men's skiing, golf and tennis, and women's basketball, bowling, skiing, tennis and volleyball.

The Mountain Valley conference is very competitive and most member colleges usually prove to be strong contenders in various Region III sports as well, making the MVCC one of the more viable community college athletic conferences within Region III of the NJCAA.

Since 1970, the membership has increased to ten. The Conference is now composed of the following  institutions:

  1. SUNY Adirondack
  2. Clinton Community College
  3. Columbia-Greene Community College
  4. Fulton-Montgomery Community College
  5. Hudson Valley Community College
  6. Herkimer County Community College
  7. Mohawk Valley Community College
  8. North Country Community College
  9. Schenectady County Community College